Kendall County Gets $25,000 to Promote Census 2020

The state of Illinois has granted a total of 20 million to organizations throughout Illinois. Kendall County is the recipient of a $25,000 grant through the Illinois Department of Human Services’ regional intermediary Illinois Association of Community Action Agencies (IACAA).
Kendall County Board Chairman Scott Gryder who is also a member of state Illinois Complete Count Commission said, “this is exciting, we want to encourage full participation!”.

Kendall County holds the record as the #1 fastest growing county in the United States with a 10-year percentage growth of 110.4% (2000-2010). Census data is used to determine the number of seats each state has in the U.S. House of Representatives and is also used to distribute billions in federal funds to local communities, so Kendall County is eager to have every person counted for funding and representation for critical infrastructure and programs that come with rapid population growth.

Kendall County has a local Complete Count Commission with 13 members made up of various stake holders to create clear achievable goals to ensure census participation across the County. Their focus will be on outreach and getting hard to count populations enumerated. Commission Chairwoman Robyn Vickers noted that, “There are under counted communities that we can now reach with these funds”.

A Kendall County Census website with more information is coming soon. For more information please go the Census website at . Planned outreach efforts include events, visiting nonprofits, social media and radio ads, targeted mailings and distribution of printed materials. The County is also working on receiving more grant funding. If you would like Kendall County to assist your organization with Census outreach please contact Mera Johnson, Kendall County Complete Count Commission staff liaison at 630-553-4834
Kendall County Complete Count Commission Members

  • Scott Gryder – Kendall County Board Chairman & Illinois Complete Count Commission Member
  • Robyn Vickers – Kendall County Board Member & Commission Chair
  • Scott Gengler – Kendall County Board Member & Commission Vice Chair
  • Ed Bugg – City of Aurora Alderman
  • Christina Burns –Village of Oswego Assistant Village Manager
  • Rob DeLong – Unincorporated Resident (Boulder Hill)
  • Katelyn Gregory – City of Yorkville staff member and resident
  • Greg Witek – Kendall County Community Food Pantry Board Chairman
  • Becca Garcia – Spanish Speaking Member (Oswego Resident)
  • Chris Mehochko – Kendall Grundy Regional Office of Education
  • Lynette Heiden – Library Director Charles B Phillips Library Newark
  • Bob Hausler – Mayor City of Plano
  • Brent Lightfoot – Oswego School District 308 Board Member

Click here for Press Release

« Back

Please email us your comments & suggestions. Your feedback is always appreciated! County Offices Directory

Copyright © 2020 All Rights Reserved